HomeMembersAssemblies and SectionsAssembliesSleep and Respiratory NeurobiologyNews ▶ Assembly on Sleep and Respiratory Neurobiology James B. Skatrud New Investigator Award
Assembly on Sleep and Respiratory Neurobiology James B. Skatrud New Investigator Award

Meet the 2022 Winner: Anna Michelle May, MD, MS


Dr. May is a pulmonary, critical care, and sleep medicine physician and researcher in the VA Northeast Ohio Healthcare System and Assistant Professor at Case Western Reserve University. She graduated with a Bachelor of Science in Chemistry and Biology from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill and earned a medical degree from the Ohio State University College of Medicine. After an internal medicine residency at MetroHealth Medical Center, Dr. May completed two clinical fellowships at University Hospitals Cleveland Medical Center: Pulmonary & Critical Care Medicine and Sleep Medicine. She completed a research fellowship during which she earned a Master of Science in Clinical Research. Dr. May is supported by a Clinical Research and Development VA Career Development Award. She was previously supported by the ATS ASPIRE fellowship, a University Hospitals Data Analytics and Informatics Pilot Grant and Louis Stokes Cleveland VA Medical Center Research and Education Foundation award. Dr. May’s research focuses on patient-centered solutions to optimizing obstructive sleep apnea care. Recent projects explored differential adherence patterns based on sex and race. Current projects focus on evaluating consequences, predicting, and improving suboptimal positive airway pressure (PAP) therapy adherence with particular focus on use of breathing patterning and a broad range of electronic medical record data. Dr. May is extremely honored and most grateful to receive the 2022 James B. Skatrud Award and thankful for having phenomenal mentors, an encouraging family, and  supportive colleagues.