Linda Chlan, PhD, RN
Assembly Chair
Linda Chlan, PhD, RN

Welcome to the ATS Assembly on Nursing website. I am honored to serve as the Chair of the Assembly on Nursing for the next two years (2018-2020).

The Nursing Assembly has more than 200 international members. Our Assembly members’ work includes populations across the lifespan, clinical settings and various areas of expertise including pediatrics, gerontology, allergy, home care, telehealth, health information technology, psychology, rehabilitation, education, integrative therapies, occupational health, palliative care, and end-of-life care. We are scientists, clinicians, and educators who practice worldwide across a variety of settings brought together by our common interests of improving the pulmonary health of patient, families and communities through research, practice, education, training, and advocacy. We currently have active working groups focused on career development, membership, and internationally-relevant patient, nurse and family research priorities.

If you are interested in participating on a committee or working group, please contact one of the Executive Committee members listed below. Involvement in ATS committees and projects serves as a learning experience, increases the visibility and talent of our members, and leads to rewarding networking and future opportunities.

We welcome all health professionals, clinicians and scientists who share the interests of the Nursing Assembly. While many Assembly members are nurses, membership is NOT restricted to nurses. We welcome anyone who is interested in building interprofessional collaborations and/or shares our passion for excellence in research, teaching, advocacy, and patient care across a wide variety of settings. Doctorally prepared (PhD or professional doctorate) members pay full dues. Advanced practice nurses and other members who are not doctorally prepared qualify for a reduced fee that provides all membership privileges except receipt of mailed official ATS journals. Nurses without a baccalaureate degree who have an interest in the activities of the Society are welcomed to join as affiliate members; affiliate members are not permitted to vote or hold office. As an ATS member, you can choose the Nursing Assembly as your primary assembly, or as a secondary assembly. You can designate up to two secondary assemblies; there is no additional cost for adding a secondary assembly.

I look forward to working with you to advance OUR Assembly and the health and well-being of patients and family members across settings and across the three pillars of ATS: pulmonary, critical care, and sleep. Feel free to contact any member of the Executive Committee with your questions or feedback. Explore the “Get Involved” link on the ATS home page for further information on getting involved in ATS!

The Executive Committee for the Nursing Assembly includes:

Assembly Chair Linda L. Chlan, PhD, RN, ATSF Lakeville , MN
Incoming Assembly Chair Wanda M. Gibson-Scipio, PhD, FNP-BC, ATSF Detroit , MI
Program Chair Anne Marie Russell Welwyn Garden City , United Kingdom
Program Chair-Elect Nina Elise Bracken, ACNPC, MSN Chicago , IL
Planning Chair Jill Lynn Guttormson, PhD Wauwatosa , WI
Nominating Chair Eileen G. Collins, PhD, ATSF Mount Prospect , IL
Web Director Lauren Castro, APN, MSN, RN Oak Park , IL
Working Group Co-Chair
Early Career Professionals
Lynn Baniak, PhD, RN Pittsburgh , PA
Interest Group Chair
Interest Group On Supplemental Oxygen Therapy
Susan S. Jacobs, RN, MS Menlo Park , CA
Interest Group Co-Chair
Interest Group on Integrative Therapies
Asha V. Devereaux, MD, MPH Coronado , CA
Interest Group Co-Chair
Interest Group on Integrative Therapies
Tania T. Von Visger, APRN, CCRN, PCCN, CCNS, CNS, PhD Amherst , NY
Committee Member
Chair Appointee
Lisa Carter-Harris, PhD, APRN, ANP-BC, RN New York , NY
Committee Member
International Nominating Committee Member
JiYeon Choi, PhD, RN Seoul , Korea, Republic of (South Korea)
Committee Member Ni-Cheng Liang, MD San Diego , CA
Committee Member Lea Ann Matura, PhD, RN Philadelphia , PA
Committee Member Jennifer Burgher Seaman, PhD, RN Pittsburgh , PA
Committee Member
Nominating Committee
Judith Tate, PhD, RN Columbus , OH
Committee Member Tania T. Von Visger, APRN, CCRN, PCCN, CCNS, CNS, PhD Amherst , NY

Thank you for your interest in the Nursing Assembly. We look forward to an exciting future and encourage your participation. For more information about the Assembly contact us at

tag document.getElementsByTagName("body")[0].className += " cookieBanner"; //Adds a class tothe tag when the banner is visible } }); } catch (error){ console.error(, error.message); }