HomeMembersCommittees ▶ Committee

Members In Transition and Training Committee

Chair Sushma K. Cribbs, MD, MSCR, ATSF Decatur, GA
Vice Chair Andrew J. Admon, MD, MPH, MSc Ann Arbor, MI
Committee Member Louella B. Amos, MD Milwaukee, WI
Committee Member - PAR Representative Donna J. Appell, RN Oyster Bay, NY
Committee Member Megan N. Ballinger, PhD Columbus, OH
Committee Member Joshua L. Denson New Orleans, LA
Committee Member Sakshi Dua, MD, ATSF New York, NY
Committee Member Mark Hepokoski, MD Capistrano Beach, CA
Committee Member Christina C. Kao, MD, PhD Houston, TX
Committee Member Viren Kaul, MD La Fayette, NY
Committee Member Allison Light, PhD Rochester, NY
Committee Member Jennifer W. Mccallister, MD, ATSF Columbus, OH
Committee Member Joel Moss, MD, PhD, ATSF Bethesda, MD
Committee Member Nandita R. Nadig, MSci Charleston, SC
Committee Member Katie Pendleton, MD Minneapolis, MN
Committee Member - CCR Representative Stacey L. Peterson-Carmichael, MD, ATSF Winston Salem, NC
Committee Member Jason T. Poston, MD Chicago, IL
Committee Member Alicia N. Rizzo, MD, PhD DENVER, CO
Committee Member Nirmal S. Sharma, MD Lutz, FL
Committee Member Trevor C. Steinbach, MD Seattle, WA
Staff Elizabeth K. Guzman New York, NY
Staff Rebecca Fisch New York, NY

The Committee for Members in Transition and Training ensures an effective representation of the views of junior ATS members in the Society’s affairs. The committee advises the Executive Committee, Board of Directors, Assemblies, and other committees regarding the special needs of members early in careers and new Society services that can assist them in achieving their career goals. It will also develop strategies for recruiting into membership early career scientists and clinicians for the diverse disciplines involved in the ATS. Finally, the Committee for Members in Transition and Training supports the efforts of junior ATS members to eliminate gender, racial, ethnic, or economic health disparities worldwide and incorporates approaches to health equality incorporates approaches to health equality.

Benchmarks, 2019-2020:
1. Identify and implement strategies the Society should adopt to advance the careers of fellows, early career scientists, and physicians, which include developing programs specific to trainees and young faculty. The chair and vice chair will participate in an ATS Steering Committee with the Membership Committee, Training Committee, and Education Committee to achieve this goal.

2. Develop resources and programming at the Center for Career Development to engage international members at the ATS International Conference

3. Work with the Early Career Working Groups from the Assemblies to coordinate and develop opportunities for fellows and early career faculty during and outside the International Conference

4. Develop resources and programming for fellows transitioning to early career faculty positions

5. Develop collaborative projects with trainee and early career professional groups in other professional societies

6. Collaborate with the Membership Committee on strategies to increase the value of ATS membership and improve retention among new members, members in training, and members transitioning to faculty, including the development of online career development resources.

7. Develop and implement social media strategies to engage in training and early career ATS members outside of the International Conference.

8. Coordinate with the Assemblies and the Patient Advisory Roundtable to develop opportunities for medical, nursing, graduate, and other inter-professional students to participate in the International Conference and to longitudinally engage with the ATS.

9. Continue collaboration with DDDD and the Training Committee and others to identify novel opportunities for junior members, ensuring that engagement evolves to create greater knowledge and awareness of innovation, entrepreneurship and translational sciences as well as career opportunities in industry

10. In collaboration with the Web Editorial and Training Committees, streamline and consolidate content that relates to trainees and early career professionals.

11. Collaborate with the Education and Training Committees to identify common metrics and meaningful outcome measures for the Resident Boot Camp, Fellows Track Symposium and Fellow to Faculty Boot Camp.