Awards Committee

Chair Lorraine B. Ware, MD, ATSF Nashville, TN
Vice Chair Dean Sheppard, MD San Francisco, CA
Committee Member Aluko A. Hope, MD Portland, OR
Committee Member - ICC Co-Chair Andrew J. Halayko, PhD, ATSF, MSc, BSc(Hons) Winnipeg, MB, Canada
Committee Member Annie Pardo Ciudad de Mexico, Ciudad de México, Mexico
Committee Member C. Terri Hough, MD, MSc, ATSF Portland, OR
Committee Member Carrie A. Redlich, MD, MPH New Haven, CT
Committee Member - ICC Co-Chair Debra M. Boyer, MD Columbus, OH
Committee Member Emily Brigham, MD, MHS Vancouver, BC, Canada
Committee Member Fernando L. Holguin, ATSF, MD, MPH Aurora, CO
Committee Member Hayley B. Gershengorn, MD, FCCM, ATSF Miami, FL
Committee Member J. Usha Raj, MD, MHA, ATSF Chicago, IL
Committee Member Jay K. Kolls, MD New Orleans, LA
Committee Member Jeffrey C. Horowitz, MD, ATSF Columbus, OH
Committee Member Jennifer L. Taylor-Cousar, MD, MSc, ATSF Denver, CO
Committee Member Jennifer Trevor, MD Birmingham, AL
Committee Member Jerry A. Krishnan, MD, PhD, ATSF Chicago, IL
Committee Member Michelle Sharp, MD, MHS Baltimore, MD
Committee Member Neomi A. Shah, MD, MPH, MSci New York, NY
Committee Member Peter Chen, MD Los Angeles, CA
Committee Member Renee D. Stapleton, MD, PhD, ATSF Burlington, VT
Committee Member Richard Casaburi, PhD, MD, ATSF Torrance, CA
Committee Member Smita Pakhale, MD, FRCPC, MSCE Ottawa, ON, Canada
Committee Member Tomeka L. Suber, MD, PhD Pittsburgh, PA
Committee Member - Immediate Past Chair Zea Borok, MBChB, ATSF La Jolla, CA
Staff Nicole Feijoo New York, NY
Staff Miriam Rodriguez New York, NY

The Awards Committee selects the annual recipient of the Trudeau Medal and the other ATS awards presented at the awards sessions of the International Conference. The Committee periodically reviews and revises, as needed, the selection criteria for these ATS awards. It also provides oversight for the entire ATS portfolio of awards to prevent duplication and to manage overlap.

Benchmarks, 2022-2023:
• Review policies and procedures for ATS awards and make recommendations to improve nominations and the nomination process, solicitation of nominations and awardees selection, and improvements in the process for soliciting more diverse nominations, i.e. women, URM, etc.
• Develop best practices to ensure the breadth and diversity of nominees for all awards.
• Make recommendations to integrate awards offered by ATS, its Assemblies, and Committees through more coordinated and cohesive communications.
• Develop recommendations for Executive Committee to enhance appeal and attendance at awards presentations (monitor attendance at award ceremonies, and survey impressions of new formats from attendees and award recipients); identify ways to better highlight/celebrate our awardees during the meeting, and throughout the entire year. Utilize social media to announce awardees.
• Explore need and recommend opportunities for modifying existing award(s) or create new awards that acknowledge member: (1) efforts that promote public and professional health equity, mentorship of minority members, and the elimination of gender, racial, ethnic, or economic health disparities within ATS or worldwide; and, (2) citizenship and professionalism.
• Further clarify existing pathway to report ethical concerns about award nominees.