HomeMembersAssemblies and SectionsAssembliesSleep and Respiratory NeurobiologyNews ▶ Assembly on Sleep and Respiratory Neurobiology James B. Skatrud New Investigator Award
Assembly on Sleep and Respiratory Neurobiology James B. Skatrud New Investigator Award

Meet the 2021 Winner: Lucas Donovan, MD, MS


Lucas Donovan, MD, MS, is an Assistant Professor of Medicine at the University of Washington and a Core Investigator for the Health Services Research and Development (HSR&D) Center of Innovation at VA Puget Sound. Dr. Donovan’s work concerns the current mismatch between the large population health burden of sleep disorders and our limited capacity to deliver care. His research aims to improve sleep care delivery in ways that maximize quality, efficiency, and patient experience. He graduated from the Case Western Reserve University School of Medicine in Cleveland, OH, and completed training in internal medicine as well as pulmonary, critical care, and sleep medicine at Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center in Boston, MA, and the University of Washington in Seattle, WA, completing training in 2018. Dr. Donovan is currently supported by a Career Development Award from VA HSR&D, and he will soon receive a 4-year $1.4 million merit award from VA HSR&D. Dr. Donovan’s prior support includes F32 and Loan Repayment awards from the NIH National Heart, Blood, and Lung Institute, the ATS Aspire Fellowship, and project funding from the VA Office of Veterans Access to Care. His work has led to 50 publications in peer-reviewed journals and helped shape practices around specialty care referrals in VA nationwide


The award is intended to recognize the career accomplishments to date and future promise of a new investigator working in the broad area of respiratory neurobiology and sleep, which includes control of breathing, sleep mechanisms, and sleep-disordered breathing. This may include work at the basic, clinical, epidemiological, or other levels.

This award recognizes a new investigator who is beyond formal training, but not yet fully established. It is not intended for well-established investigators. It is also not intended as recognition for a single project, but rather for overall accomplishments and future potential. There are no citizenship requirements for this award.  The awardee will be expected to make a short presentation about their research at the SRN Assembly Membership Meeting. The awardee will receive a check and a framed certificate.


  • Nominees cannot be at a rank higher than Assistant Professor (or equivalent).
  • Ph.D. or other non-physician scientists should be no more than seven years beyond the completion of their doctoral or terminal research degree at the time of application.
  • Physician-scientists (M.D.) should be no more than seven years beyond clinical training (residency, fellowship) at the time of application
  • Of note, exceptions may be made for Nominees who have taken significant time away from their academic career; however, this must be pre-emptively discussed with the Planning Committee Chair.
  • Nominees should have more than one first-authored paper that is considered to advance the science of respiratory neurobiology or sleep.
  • Nominees and Nominators must be an ATS member.
  • Nominee must be able to attend the ATS International Conference.

Application Submission Documents:

  • A summary of the candidate’s accomplishments in the attached bio-sketch format.
  • A statement by the candidate of his/her career goals and the potential of his/her research to advance the field of sleep and respiratory neurobiology (maximum 1 page).
  • Nominating letter by a mentor (or mentors).


Nominate Here


View Previous Award Recipients