HomeMembersAssemblies and SectionsAssembliesPediatricsAwards ▶ Pediatrics Founder Award
Pediatrics Founder Award

This award is presented to a member of the Pediatrics Assembly given annually at the Pediatrics Assembly Founder’s Dinner in recognition of his or her role in founding the disciplines of pediatric respiratory diseases including Pulmonary, Critical Care, and Neonatal Medicine programs, and a lifetime of achievement in Pediatric Respiratory Medicine.   


  • The candidate should be recognized for making seminal contributions to the science or practice of Pediatric Respiratory Medicine. 
  • The candidate should be recognized by his/her peers as an outstanding clinician and/or researcher, teacher, and mentor.
  • Contributions to the Pediatric Assembly in the form of Committee participation or Chairmanship will be viewed favorably.
  • Candidates in Pediatric Pulmonary, Critical Care, and Neonatal Medicine all will be considered.

Past Recipients of the Assembly on Pediatrics Annual Founder's Award:

2020 - Phillip Farrell, MD, PhD
2019 - Thomas G. Keens, MD
2018 - Robert E. Wood, PhD, MD
2017 - John G. Brooks, MD
2016 - Carl F. Doershuk, MD
2015 - William W. Waring, MD
2014 - Howard Eigen, MD
2013 - Thomas F. Boat, MD
2012 - Victor Chernick, MD
2011 - Robert Mellins, MD
2010 - Lynn Taussig MD