Assembly Awards

HomeMembersAssemblies and SectionsAboutAssembly Awards ▶ Assembly on Pulmonary Infections & Tuberculosis Mid Career Award
Assembly on Pulmonary Infections & Tuberculosis Mid Career Award

Meet the 2023 Winner: Amali E. Samarasinghe, PhD


Amali Samarasinghe is an Associate Professor of Pediatrics and the Director of the Pediatric Asthma Research Center at the University of Tennessee Health Science Center. Dr. Samarasinghe received her undergraduate and Master’s degrees from California State University, Northridge, and her PhD From North Dakota State University. She has been a contributing member of the ATS community since 2011. Her involvement in the PI-TB assembly began in 2012 where she has served in the capacity of early career group member, director of the webinar journal clubs, co-chair then chair to the science and innovation center, elected member of the nominating committee, and workshop co-chair among other service. In the past, she has been recognized by the PI-TB with the Rising Star Award in 2016 and the Early Career Award in 2017.

Dr. Samarasinghe’s research program involves elucidating immune responses in the allergic lungs during respiratory viral and bacterial infections with a focus on host-pathogen responses. She is passionate about mentoring the next generation of scientists and medical professionals and collaborates across ATS groups as well as academic institutes engaging scientists at varying career levels from diverse backgrounds. Her dedication to lung health goes beyond research, where she had volunteered on numerous occasions in the ATS outreach programs to lobby lawmakers to secure funding for lung health initiatives during her 4-year tenure in the Research Advocacy Committee. She is also a funded member of the American Lung Association and engages with her local community in Memphis TN to advocate for lung health.


This award is given to a PI-TB member with a clear commitment to PI-TB and ATS, advancing their missions, and with a contribution(s) to the PI-TB Assembly and/or ATS in the area(s) of research, clinical care, teaching or service (may include leadership).


  • Late Assistant or Associate Professor, or equivalent
  • Between 10 and 20 years from having completed postdoctoral or clinical training, excluding time off for personal circumstances.
  • PI-TB Assembly Member (primary or secondary)
  • Contribution(s) to the PI-TB Assembly in basic science, translational science, epidemiology, public health and/or “bedside to the community” (implementation) research, clinical care, teaching, or service, frequently including evidence of leadership.


  • Nomination letter from sponsor(s) (2-page limit)
  • Updated candidate CV


Nominate Here


View Previous Award Recipients

2022 - Robert Dickson, MD

2021 - James Chalmers, MD, PhD

2020 - Adithya Cattamanchi, MD

2019 - Chadi A. Hage, MD

2018 - Charles Dela Cruz, MD, PhD

2017 - Marcos I. Restrepo, MD, MSc

2016 - Scott Evans, MD

2015 - Alison M. Morris, MD, MS

2014 - Kristina A. Crothers, MD