Assembly Awards

HomeMembersAssemblies and SectionsAboutAssembly Awards ▶ Assembly on Pulmonary Infections & Tuberculosis Early Career Recognition Award
Assembly on Pulmonary Infections & Tuberculosis Early Career Recognition Award

Meet the 2023 Winner: Samantha M. Yeligar, MS, PhD


Samantha M. Yeligar is an Associate Professor at Emory University’s Department of Medicine in the Division of Pulmonary, Allergy, Critical Care, and Sleep Medicine.  Dr. Yeligar received her undergraduate degree in Biochemistry with a Biology emphasis from the University of California, Riverside and Master of Science as well as Doctor of Philosophy degrees in Biochemistry and Molecular Biology from the University of Southern California. She completed her postdoctoral training at Emory University and joined the faculty as an Assistant Professor in 2015. She has been a member of the ATS since 2011 and a member of the Pulmonary Infections and Tuberculosis Assembly since 2014.  She has previous served the assembly as a member of the Early Career Professionals Working Group (2014 - 2022), Pneumonia Working Group (2018 - 2021), Program Committee (2022 to present), and PhD and Basic and Translational Scientists Working Group (2018 to present), which she currently co-chairs.

Dr. Yeligar has a long-standing interest in elucidating the molecular mechanisms contributing to alveolar macrophage oxidative stress and impaired immune response in various pathologies and examining novel therapeutic strategies that can be translated into clinical studies to improve lung immunity. More recently, her research has focused on identifying the underlying mechanisms of mitochondrial dysfunction that may be implicated in increased risk for respiratory infections in people with a history of alcohol use disorders or HIV positive individuals.


This award is given to a PI-TB member with a record of a clear commitment to PI-TB and ATS, advancing their missions, and with a contribution(s) to the PI-TB Assembly in the area(s) of research, clinical care, teaching, or service (not necessarily leadership).


  • In-training, Instructor, Early Assistant Professor, or equivalent
  • Within 10 years from having completed postdoctoral or clinical training, excluding time off for personal circumstances
  • PI-TB Assembly Member (primary or secondary)
  • Contribution(s) to the PI-TB Assembly and/or ATS in basic science, translational science, epidemiology, public health and/or “bedside to the community” (implementation) research, clinical care, teaching, or service (not necessarily leadership).
  • Early Career nominees may be considered alternatively for a Rising Star Award, based on research.


  • Nomination letter from sponsor(s) (*2 page limit, using this template)
  • Updated candidate CV


Nominate Here


View Previous Award Recipients

2022 - Keira Cohen, MD

2021 - Jennifer Honda, Ph.D

2020 -  Alexandra Pragman, MD, PhD

2019 - Bashar S. Statieh, MD

2018 - Christina Yoon, MD, MPH, MSCR

2017 - Amali E. Samarasinghe, PhD

2016 - Oriol Sibila, MD, PhD

2015 - Sushma K. Cribbs, MD, MSCR

2014 - Charles Dela Cruz, MD, PhD