Assembly Awards

HomeMembersAssemblies and SectionsAboutAssembly Awards ▶ Alison Clay Early Career Educator Award
Alison Clay Early Career Educator Award

Meet the 2022 Winner: Stacey M. Kassutto, MD



The Section on Medical Education is pleased to sponsor the Alison Clay Early Career Educator Award. Learn more about Alison Clay. This award will be awarded to an individual who has made significant contributions to education in pulmonary, critical care and/or sleep medicine and has demonstrated the potential for future success as an educator. We welcome nominations of physician-, nursing-, or basic science educators. Awardees will be presented with a framed certificate at the Section of Medical Education membership meeting at the ATS International Conference.


  1. The nominee must be a member of the ATS and the Section on Medical Education.
  2. They must be an Instructor or Assistant Professor (or equivalent rank) at the time of nomination.
  3. Consideration will typically be limited to nominees who are ≤ 7 years from completion of fellowship training, except under extenuating circumstances that should be explained in the nominating or a separate letter.
  4. The nominee must spend a significant portion of their time participating in peer and/or trainee education, be recognized by her/his learners and colleagues as an outstanding teacher and be in the midst of building a career as an educator.  
  5. Contributions to the Section on Medical Education in the form of Committee or Working Group Participation or leadership, and/or otherwise advancing the SoME’s mission will be viewed favorably.
  6. Self-nominations will not be considered for this award.

Nomination Packet:

  1. A nomination letter from a member of the Section on Medical Education (3-page maximum) should address:
    1. Excellence in teaching
    2. Excellence in mentoring
    3. Scholarly contributions in medical education
    4. Educational innovation
    5. Educational Leadership
    6. Participation in the ATS and the Section of Medical Education
  2. Curriculum Vitae for the nominee


Nominate Here


View Previous Award Recipients

2021 - Diana Kelm, MD
2020 - Lekshmi Santhosh, MD, Med
2019 - Margaret Hayes, MD