Assembly Awards

HomeMembersAssemblies and SectionsAboutAssembly Awards ▶ Assembly on Critical Care Mid-Career Achievement Award
Assembly on Critical Care Mid-Career Achievement Award

Meet the 2023 Winner: Carol L Hodgson, PhD, MPhil, PT


Dr Carol Hodgson completed her PhD in 2010 on lung recruitment for patients with ARDS at Monash University, Melbourne, Australia. She is now Professor of Critical Care Research and Head of the Division of Clinical Trials and Cohort Studies in the School of Public Health and Preventive Medicine at Monash University.  She is Deputy Director of the Australian and New Zealand Intensive Care Research Centre, and she has held National Health and Medical Research Council funding throughout her academic career. Dr Hodgson is a clinical trialist leading international multicentre trials for the Australian and New Zealand Intensive Care Society Clinical Trials Group. She is a Fellow of the Australian College of Physiotherapy and a Specialist Physiotherapist in Intensive Care at The Alfred Hospital, Melbourne, Australia.

Dr Hodgson has a long-standing interest in long-term functional recovery after critical illness. She led the TEAM trial published in the NEJM in 2022 and she leads the binational ECMO Registry (EXCEL) that recently published long term outcomes of patients receiving ECMO in Lancet Resp Med. She sits on the Executive and Scientific Committee of the International ECMO Network (ECMONet), the Guidelines Leadership Group for National COVID-19 Clinical Evidence Taskforce and is a Council Member of the International Forum of Acute Care Trialists (InFACT). She was recently awarded fellowship to the Australian Academy of Health and Medical Sciences and made an Honorary Member of the European Society of Intensive Care Medicine.

Dr Hodgson leads an NHMRC funded Centre of Research Excellence for Critically Ill Patients. She has been a member of international guideline panels for the American Thoracic Society, the Surviving Sepsis Campaign, and the European Society of Intensive Care Medicine. She is Chair of the Editorial Board of the Journal of Physiotherapy, sits on the international advisory committee of Lancet Respiratory Medicine, and is an Editorial Board Member of the Blue Journal and Critical Care Resuscitation. Dr Hodgson works with the ATS Assembly Planning Committee to increase the visibility of the assembly in ATS and to increase the Assembly’s international collaborations.


This award is given to an individual with a clear commitment to the Critical Care Assembly and the ATS, with demonstrated significant and meaningful contributions to the CCA in the area(s) of research, clinical care, quality improvement, teaching, mentoring, promoting diversity, advocacy, and/or service. The awardee will be honored at the CC Assembly gathering at the ATS International Conference.


Candidate should be:

  • An active clinician or investigator in critical care medicine between ~10-16 years of completion of training (i.e., fellowship or terminal doctoral degree, whichever was completed/awarded latest)
  • A CCA member (primary or secondary).
  • Contributions to the CC Assembly in the form of committee participation or leadership, promoting CCA diversity, and/or otherwise advancing the CCA’s mission will be viewed favorably.

The nomination package must include a nomination letter touching on all four scoring metrics (see below scoring rubric) from one or more members of ATS describing why the award is merited. Nominators should note in their letter any extenuating circumstances affecting the nominee. The curriculum vitae from the candidate must also be included with the nomination packet. Unawarded nominations from prior years do not carry over and should be resubmitted; previous awardees are not eligible for the same award.

Example Nomination Letters:

Carol L Hodgson, PhD, MPhil, PT, 2023 Awardee

Scoring Rubric:

 Applicants are scored on 4 criteria using a 1-5 rating system (with 1 being the best) across the below categories. In the event that none of the nominees in a given category receive an average score ≤3 , the Planning Committee may choose to defer granting an award in that category that year. If the Planning Committee does not receive any eligible nominations in a given category (e.g., CCA member, active clinician/investigator for roughly the stated time frame), the Committee may choose to nominate an individual, who must be unanimously approved by all members in order to receive the award.

  • Scientific Contributions/Products (which may include: research articles, data, reagents, software, and intellectual property)
  • Teaching/Mentoring/Educational/Advocacy Contributions
  • Participation in Assembly and ATS Activities (administrative, committees, workshops etc.)
  • Overall impact/impression of dossier submitted for award application
Nominate Here


View Previous Award Recipients

2022 - Karen Burns, MD, MSCR, FRCPC, MSc
2021 - *No Award Given
2020 - Hayley Gershengorn, MD, FCCM, ATSF
2019 - Carolyn S. Calfee, MD
2018 - Hannah Wunsch, MSc, MD
2017 - Robert Fowler, MD