Assembly Awards

HomeMembersAssemblies and SectionsAboutAssembly Awards ▶ Assembly on Critical Care Early Career Achievement Award
Assembly on Critical Care Early Career Achievement Award

Meet the 2023 Winner: Alison E. Turnbull, DVM, MPH, PhD


Alison Turnbull in an Associate Professor in the Department of Medicine at Johns Hopkins School of Medicine and in the Department of Epidemiology at Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health.  She received her undergraduate degree from Carleton College, her veterinary medical degree and her master’s of public health from Tufts University, and her PhD in epidemiology from Johns Hopkins University.

She has been a member of the ATS and our assemblies on Critical Care and Behavioral Science and Health Services Research since 2014.  She has previously served on the BSHSR programming committee and on the Ethics and Conflict of Interest Committee.

Dr. Turnbull’s research interests are broad. In the last decade she’s published >50 peer-reviewed papers, including an influential conceptual framework for empirically evaluating the goal-concordance of ICU care, pilot studies and randomized trials of behavioral science-informed interventions to encourage more meaningful conversations with ICU families, a highly-cited scoping review of long-term outcomes assessed following critical care, and a core outcome set for studies of ICU survivorship which has played a foundational role in the NHLBI PETAL network’s approach to long-term patient-centered outcome measurement. Most recently, she published a multicenter prospective cohort study of ICU survivors’ expectations for recovery at the time of hospital discharge and their quality of life 6 months later.   



This award recognizes a junior faculty with exemplary achievements in a scientific area of interest to the Assembly and who demonstrates clear promise for a future of sustained productivity. The awardee will be honored at the CC Assembly gathering at the ATS International Conference.


Candidate should be:

  • An active clinician or investigator in critical care medicine within ~10 years of completion of training (i.e., fellowship or terminal doctoral degree, whichever was completed/awarded latest)
  • A CCA member (primary or secondary).
  • Contributions to the CC Assembly in the form of committee participation or leadership, promoting CCA diversity, and/or otherwise advancing the CCA’s mission will be viewed favorably.

The nomination package must include a nomination letter touching on all four scoring metrics (see below scoring rubric) from one or more members of ATS describing why the award is merited. Nominators should note in their letter any extenuating circumstances affecting the nominee. The curriculum vitae from the candidate must also be included with the nomination packet. Unawarded nominations from prior years do not carry over and should be resubmitted; previous awardees are not eligible for the same award.

Example Nomination Letters:

Alison E. Turnbull, DVM, MPH, PhD, 2023 Awardee

Lauren E Ferrante, MD, MHS, ATSF, 2022 Awardee

Scoring Rubric:

 Applicants are scored on 4 criteria using a 1-5 rating system (with 1 being the best) across the below categories. In the event that none of the nominees in a given category receive an average score ≤3 , the Planning Committee may choose to defer granting an award in that category that year. If the Planning Committee does not receive any eligible nominations in a given category (e.g., CCA member, active clinician/investigator for roughly the stated time frame), the Committee may choose to nominate an individual, who must be unanimously approved by all members in order to receive the award.

  • Scientific Contributions/Products (which may include: research articles, data, reagents, software, and intellectual property)
  • Teaching/Mentoring/Educational/Advocacy Contributions
  • Participation in Assembly and ATS Activities (administrative, committees, workshops etc.)
  • Overall impact/impression of dossier submitted for award application


Nominate Here


View Previous Award Recipients

2022 - Lauren E. Ferrante, MD, MHS, ATSF

2021 - Michael Harhay, Ph.D, MPH, and Michael Sjoding, MD

2020 - Matthew Semler, MD, MSc

2019 - Matthew Churpek, MD, MPH

2018 - Hallie C. Prescott, MD

2017 - Nuala Meyer, MD, MS

2016 - Christopher W. Seymour, MD, MSc

2015 - Colin R. Cooke, MD