Assembly Awards

HomeMembersAssemblies and SectionsAboutAssembly Awards ▶ Assembly on Behavioral Science and Health Services Research Early Career Achievement Award
Assembly on Behavioral Science and Health Services Research Early Career Achievement Award

2023 Winner: Jacqueline Marie Kruser, MD, MS


Dr. Kruser is an Assistant Professor of Medicine in the Division of Allergy, Pulmonary, and Critical Care at the University of Wisconsin-Madison School of Medicine and Public Health. Jacky graduated summa cum laude from the University of Notre Dame and received her medical degree from the University of Chicago Pritzker School of Medicine. She completed her residency and chief residency in Internal Medicine at the University of Wisconsin followed by fellowship in Pulmonary and Critical Care at Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine, where she also received a Master of Science degree in Health Services and Outcomes Research.

Dr. Kruser’s research employs cross-disciplinary methods from health services research, systems and human factors engineering, and medical social sciences to understand and improve the social and technical ICU system. Her work aims to transform the highly technical ICU system into one that better meets the needs of patients, their families, and the professionals who care for them.

Jacky has been a member of the ATS and the Behavioral Science & Health Services Research Assembly since 2014, including service on the Program and Planning Committees and the Early Career Professionals Working Group. She is also part of the ATS Scientific Grant Review Committee and the Critical Care Assembly’s Program Committee.



The award will be given to an early career individual who has made outstanding scientific and scholarly contributions relevant to behavioral and social sciences, clinical epidemiology, statistics, health services research, health economics, comparative clinical efficacy and effectiveness research, patient-centered outcomes research, performance measurement, quality improvement, or implementation science. This award is to recognize individuals who have applied these methodologies to lung diseases, critical illness, or sleep disorders early in their career, and who have made significant contributions to the BSHSR Assembly and the ATS as a whole. The award committee encourages nominations from groups who are under-represented in medicine. Awardees will be presented with a framed certificate at the ATS International Conference. For guidance regarding whether a nominee is more appropriate for the Emerging or Early Award category, please reach out to the BSHSR Planning Committee Chair ahead of the submission deadline.


  • Instructor, Assistant Professor, or an equivalent rank in a non-academic institution
  • Within 10 years of completing all post-doctoral or clinical training, excluding time off for personal circumstances
  • Current BSHSR member (primary or secondary membership)
  • Has not previously received an Early Career Achievement award from any ATS assembly
  • Cannot concurrently be nominated for an Emerging Career award
  • The submission package must include the candidate’s updated curriculum vitae and a nomination letter from an assembly member addressing the candidate’s achievements within the scored award domains.


Applicants are scored on 6 criteria using a 1-5 rating system across the following categories; summed scores provide an overall score:

  • Scientific and scholarly contributions/products
  • Teaching/mentoring/educational contributions
  • Participation in BSHSR Assembly activities (administrative, committees, workshops, etc.)
  • Participation in other ATS activities (administrative, committees, workshops, etc.)
  • Other considerations from recommendations including relevant extenuating circumstances
  • Overall impact/impression of the dossier submitted for award application


Nominate Here


View Previous Award Recipients

2022 - Thomas Sebastian Valley, MD, MSc

2021 - Neeta Thakur, MD, MPH

2020 - Curtis Weiss, MD, MS

2019 - Valerie Press, MD, MPH & Meeta Prasad Kerlin, MD, MS

2018 - Laura C. Feemster, MD, MSc

2017 - Minal R. Patel, PhD, MPH

2016 - Michelle Eakin, PhD

2015 - Andrea S. Gershon, MD, MSc

2014 - Renda S. Wiener, MD, MPH

2013 - Colin Cooke, MD, MSc, MS

2012 - Christopher G. Slatore, MD, MS

2011 - Theodore J. Iwashyna, MD, PhD

2010 - Jeremy Kahn, MSc

2009 - Kristin A. Riekert, PhD

2008 - Jean-Marie Bruzzese, PhD

2007 - Vincent Fan, MD, MPH

2006 - Christopher H. Goss, MD, MSc

2005 - David Au, MD and Michael K. Gould, MD, MS

2004 - Jerry A. Krishnan, MD, PhD

2003 - Lynn B. Gerald, PhD, MSPH