Assembly Awards

HomeMembersAssemblies and SectionsAboutAssembly Awards ▶ Assembly on Allergy, Immunology and Inflammation Rising Star Achievement Award
Assembly on Allergy, Immunology and Inflammation Rising Star Achievement Award

Meet the 2023 Winner - Nathan Schoettler, MD, PhD



Dr. Nathan Schoettler, MD, PhD, is an assistant professor in the Department of Medicine, Section of Pulmonary and Critical Care at the University of Chicago. His research integrates genetics and human immunology.



This award recognizes early junior faculty (see below) with a trajectory of achievements in a scientific area of the AII Assembly who demonstrates exemplary promise for a future of achievement. The awardee of the Rising Star Achievement Award will present their work at the Science and Innovation Center during the ATS International Conference. Certificates will also be awarded during the session.There is no monetary award for this recognition.


  • The awardee must be a Primary or Secondary AII member.
  • The awardee must be an Instructor level or Assistant Professor level (or equivalent) at the time of nomination.
  • Limited to nominees that are ≤ 5 years from terminal doctoral degree (PhDs) or completion of medical fellowship training (MDs or MD/PhDs).  Individual waivers of time rule will require a written statement as to the reason for waiver and will be considered on a case by case basis.
  • Previous awardees are not eligible for the same award.


  • Nominations will come from AII Primary or Secondary Assembly members
  • Submit a completed nomination form summarizing what the nominee has contributed to impact their field thus far and why you believe they demonstrate clear promise for ongoing productivity/achievement at the early stage of their career, research and other academic pursuits.
  • Upload the nominee’s NIH Biosketch or equivalent research CV, limit 5 pages – please make sure that this reflects all of the activities noted on the nomination form.


Nominate Here


View Previous Award Recipients

2022 - Tomeka Suber, MD, PhD

2021 - William Bain, MD and Rod Rahimi, PhD, MD

2020 - Mark Snyder, MD

2019 - Michelle L. Manni, PhD

2019 - Keven M. Robinson, MD

2018 - Rachel G. Scheraga, MD

2018 - Jeffrey A. Haspel, MD, PhD

2017 - Yvonne J. Huang, MD

2017 - Josalyn L. Cho, MD

2016 - Jennifer Alexander-Brett, MD, PhD

2015 - Amir A. Zeki, MD