Assembly Awards

HomeMembersAssemblies and SectionsAboutAssembly Awards ▶ Assembly on Allergy, Immunology & Inflammation Early Career Achievement Award
Assembly on Allergy, Immunology & Inflammation Early Career Achievement Award

Meet the 2023 Winner: David Noel O'Dwyer, BM BCH, BMedSci, PhD



David O’Dwyer is an Assistant Professor and physician scientist in the Division of Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine at the University of Michigan Medical School. Dr. O’Dwyer received his medical degree from University College Cork, Ireland and a PhD from University College Dublin, Ireland. He has been on faculty at the University of Michigan since completing a clinical and research fellowship there in 2017. He has been a member of the ATS since 2008 and a member of the Allergy, Immunology and Inflammation Assembly since that time.

Dr. O ’Dwyer’s research has focused on improving our understanding of the microbiome in pulmonary fibrosis. His ongoing projects include translation studies in large cohorts of patients with idiopathic pulmonary fibrosis (IPF) examining links between systemic microbiota and dysregulated immunity. Previous work by Dr O’Dwyer using translational studies and pre-clinical models has established a role for lung microbiota in disease progression in pulmonary fibrosis. His laboratory was the first to establish that germ free small animal models were protected from pulmonary fibrosis. Dr O’Dwyer has held a K99/R00 career development award and a short term high impact R56 award from the NHLBI. He currently holds an R01 award from NHLBI.

Dr. O ‘Dwyer’s clinical work is focused on the diagnosis and care of patients with interstitial lung disease (ILD) and he is a member of the ILD program at the University of Michigan.  


This award recognizes junior faculty (see below) with exemplary achievements in a scientific area of the AII Assembly who demonstrates clear promise for a future of sustained productivity.  There is a single award given out per year in which the awardee will receive a framed certificate and make a 5-minute presentation of their work at the Assembly Membership Meeting. There is no monetary award for this recognition.


  • The awardee must be a Primary or Secondary AII member.
  • The awardee must be an Instructor level or Assistant Professor level (or equivalent) at the time of nomination.
  • Limited to nominees that are ≤ 12 years from terminal doctoral degree (PhDs) or completion of medical fellowship training (MDs or MD/PhDs).  Individual waivers of time rule will require a written statement as to the reason for waiver and will be considered on a case by case basis.
  • Previous awardees are not eligible for the same award.


  • Nominations will come from AII Primary or Secondary Assembly members.
  • Submit a completed nomination form summarizing what the nominee has contributed to impact their field thus far and why you believe they demonstrate clear promise for ongoing productivity/achievement.
  • Upload the nominee’s NIH Biosketch or equivalent research or achievement CV which is limited to 5 pages. Please make sure that this reflects all of the activities noted on the nomination form.


Nominate Here


View Previous Award Recipients

2022 - Eric Douglas Morrell, MD, MA

2021 - Rachel G. Scheraga, MD

2020 -  Stephanie Christenson, MD, MS

2019 - Megan Ballinger, PhD

2018 - Yvonne J. Huang, MD

2017 - Robert P. Dickson, MD

2016 - Christine M Freeman, PhD

2015 – Amit Gagger, MD, PhD

2014 - Rachel L. Zemans, MD