Publications Policy Committee

Chair Robert M. Tighe, MD, ATSF Durham, NC
Vice Chair Stephanie D. Davis, MD, ATSF Chapel Hill, NC
Committee Member Angela Rogers, MD, MPH, ATSF Stanford, CA
Committee Member Bruno L. Ferreyro, MD Toronto, ON, Canada
Committee Member Christopher M. Waters, PhD, ATSF Lexington, KY
Committee Member - Editor, Annals ATS Colin R. Cooke, MD Ann Arbor, MI
Committee Member David Gozal, MD, MBA, ATSF Columbia, MO
Committee Member Eileen G. Collins, PhD, ATSF Chicago, IL
Committee Member Enid R. Neptune, MD, ATSF Baltimore, MD
Committee Member Fernando Holguin, MD, MPH Aurora, CO
Committee Member Ivan O. Rosas, MD Houston, TX
Committee Member - Editor, AJRCCM Jadwiga A. Wedzicha, MD, ATSF Croydon, Surrey, United Kingdom
Committee Member James Allinson, MD, PhD London, London, United Kingdom
Committee Member Jared Chiarchiaro, MD, MSCR Pittsburgh, PA
Committee Member John P. Kress, MD Chicago, IL
Committee Member - Editor, ATS Scholar Nitin Seam, MD, ATSF, FACP Bethesda, MD
Committee Member - Editor, AJRCMB Paul T. Schumacker, PhD, ATSF Chicago, IL
Committee Member R William Vandivier, MD Denver, CO
Committee Member Stephanie J. London, MD, DrPH Research Triangle Park, NC
Committee Member Steven R. White, MD, ATSF Chicago, IL
Committee Member Susanne Herold, MD, PhD Giessen, Hessen, Germany
Committee Member Tina V. Hartert, MD, MPH, ATSF Nashville, TN
Committee Member Wonder P. Drake, MD Nashville, TN
Staff Diane Gern New York, NY
Staff Karen J. Collishaw New York, NY
Staff Kevin C. Wilson, MD, ATSF Boston, MA

The Publications Policy Committee provides oversight of the American Journal of Respiratory and Critical Care Medicine, American Journal of Respiratory Cell and Molecular Biology, Annals of the American Thoracic Society, and ATS Scholar to promote scientific integrity, relevance and leadership in the fields of pulmonary, critical care and sleep medicine. The Publications Policy Committee ensures that the Society’s journals contribute to the achieving the Society’s mission. The Committee is responsible for the broad editorial policies of the journals. It evaluates the performance of the editors and transmits the evaluations to the Executive Committee. The Committee regularly evaluates the overall publications needs of the Society and, when necessary, recommends appropriate changes in the publications program. It provides the Board with strategic guidance for addressing emerging challenges and monitors the effectiveness of new programs, and offers a forum for evaluation of the strengths, weaknesses, threats, and opportunities related to ATS journals. Working in close association with the Documents Development and Implementation Committee, the Committee promotes the effective dissemination of official ATS documents. Finally, it is also responsible for oversight and management of Journal CME planning and implementation.

Benchmarks, 2021-2022:

• Complete the search for the new Blue Editor.
• Complete the search for the new Red Editor or decide on a second extension year for Dr. Schumacker.
• Address open access options, including Plan S requirements and government mandates.
• Review success of ATS Scholar, including finances and make recommendations for changes, if needed.
• Continue to support the collaboration efforts of the ATS family of journals
• Review the gender, racial and ethnic diversity of the 4 ATS journals in terms of DEs/AEs and the Editorial Boards. Look at factors that impede diversity. Look at the current structure of manuscript authorship. Consider double-blinded reviews and look at review process overall to see if there are opportunities to make the system fairer and more equitable.
• Expand and enhance the journals digital footprint. Collaborate with the Digital Content Committee.
• Develop standard citations for digital content, such as podcasts, videos, etc.