Press Releases from the ATS International Conference

HomeAboutNewsroomPress ReleasesPress Releases from the ATS International Conference ▶ Polly E. Parsons, MD, ATSF Named 2021 Edward Livingston Trudeau Medalist
Polly E. Parsons, MD, ATSF Named 2021 Edward Livingston Trudeau Medalist


New York, NY — The American Thoracic Society has named Polly E. Parsons, MD, ATSF, and past president of the ATS, as the 2021 Edward Livingston Trudeau Medalist. The award was presented during the 2021 ATS International Conference.

The Edward Livingston Trudeau Medal is awarded to an individual who has made major, lifelong contributions to the prevention, diagnosis, and treatment of lung disease through leadership in research, education, or clinical care. It was established in 1926, and is given in honor of Edward Livingston Trudeau, a founder and the first president of the American Lung Association. The medal also acknowledges exemplary professionalism, collegiality, and citizenship in the ATS community.

Dr. Parsons is the E.L. Amidon Chair and Professor of Medicine at the University of Vermont. She received her medical degree from the University of Arizona and completed residency and fellowship training in Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine at the University of Colorado. 

“It’s an honor to present Dr. Parsons with the Trudeau Medal in recognition of her outstanding contributions to our field while championing mentorship, diversity, and inclusion”, said ATS President, Juan C. Celedón, MD, ATSF. “Dr. Parsons’s distinguished leadership at academic institutions and at the ATS have advanced respiratory health, leaving a long-lasting legacy through the next generation of clinicians and scientists.”

Dr. Parsons’s career has included leadership roles in education and patient care.  Her research focus is on acute lung injury and critical illness.  She has served on several research review and advisory committees including the NHLBI Scientific Advisory Council and is currently the scientific director for the Parker B. Francis Fellowship Program. 

ATS has been Dr. Parsons’s academic home since she was a fellow.  She had numerous roles in ATS. In addition to serving as the ATS President 2018-2019, she is the past recipient of the Elizabeth A. Rich Award, the ATS Distinguished Achievement Award and the ATS Assembly on Critical Care Ninth Annual Lifetime Achievement Award. 

To learn more about the ATS 2021 Respiratory Health Awards, visit our website.

Media Contact
Dacia Morris
Director of Communications


About the American Thoracic Society
Founded in 1905, the American Thoracic Society is the world's leading medical association dedicated to advancing pulmonary, critical care and sleep medicine. The Society’s 16,000 members prevent and fight respiratory disease around the globe through research, education, patient care and advocacy. The ATS publishes four journals, the American Journal of Respiratory and Critical Care Medicine, the American Journal of Respiratory Cell and Molecular BiologyAnnals of the American Thoracic Society, and ATS Scholar.


<!doctype html>