Assembly Awards

HomeMembersAssemblies and SectionsAboutAssembly Awards ▶ Assembly on Pulmonary Circulation Early Career Research Achievement Award
Assembly on Pulmonary Circulation Early Career Research Achievement Award

Meet the 2021 Winner: Soban Umar, MD, Ph.D



Dr. Soban Umar, MD, Ph.D. is an Assistant Professor at the Department of Anesthesiology and Perioperative Medicine, Division of Molecular Medicine in the David Geffen School of Medicine at UCLA in Los Angeles, California. Dr. Umar received his Medicine degree with honors from Nishtar Medical University in Pakistan. He completed his Ph.D. in cardiovascular physiology and molecular cardiology from Leiden University in the Netherlands with a focus on molecular mechanisms of pulmonary hypertension and right heart failure. He went on to complete his Postdoctoral training in cardiopulmonary pathophysiology from UCLA with a focus on the role of sex hormones and sex chromosomes and epigenetic regulation of pulmonary hypertension. He completed his residency training in Anesthesiology from UCLA in 2016 and has been serving as a faculty member in the Department of Anesthesiology since. Dr. Umar is a physician-scientist who works as a clinical Anesthesiologist and is the principal investigator of an NIH-funded basic and translational cardiovascular research laboratory. He has received funding from the American Thoracic Society (ATS), Foundation for Anesthesia Education and Research (FAER), UCLA Cardiovascular Theme, and The National Institutes of Health (NIH). Dr. Umar has published > 50 high-quality research papers and has an h-index of 25 with over 2100 citations of his work to date. His valuable contributions to pulmonary vascular disease and right heart failure research have resulted in numerous honors and awards. The Umar Laboratory’s research is focused on investigating the pathophysiology and molecular mechanisms of primary and secondary forms of pulmonary hypertension and associated right ventricular dysfunction using cutting-edge multi-omics approaches with a long-term goal to devise novel, effective and targeted therapies.


This award will be given to one individual with a promising career trajectory who has made outstanding scientific contributions relevant to the understanding of the vascular basis of lung disease, including basic science at the level of the cell and molecular biology, lung vascular physiology, translational biology, or clinical medicine. Awardees will be presented with a framed certificate at the annual PC Membership Meeting during the ATS International Conference.


  • Must be within 7 years from the start of first faculty appointment at the time of submission
  • Submission of a complete nomination package including 1) letters of support from 2 different members of the assembly describing the candidate’s contributions, potential, and why the award is appropriate; 2) the candidate’s curriculum vitae and 3) a copy of an abstract that will be presented at the ATS meeting on which the candidate is first or senior author.
  • Must be a PC Assembly primary member


Nominate Here


View Previous Award Recipients

2020 - Kara Goss, MD
2019 - Evan Brittain, MD
2018 - Rebecca R. Vanderpool, BS, MS, PhD
2017 - Joshua Patrick Fessel, MD, PhD
2016 - Vinicio De Jesus Perez, MD
2015 - Eric P. Schmidt, MD